August 31, 2005
Official Peter Gabriel Site Lists Two (?) Track Listings For New DVD

On the official Peter Gabriel site, they provide two possible track listings for the forthcoming Peter Gabriel DVD, Still Growing Up, Live and Unwrapped. I guess they don't have much more information than we do right now, so they have provided two possibilities which are listed below:

Two Track Listings Given By The Official Site (One of them is obviously not correct):

Possibility #1:
1. The Feeling Begins
2. Red Rain
3. Secret World
4. White Ashes
5. Games Without Frontiers
6. Burn You Up, Burn You Down
7. The Tower That Ate People
8. San Jacinto
9. Digging In The Dirt
10. Solsbury Hill
11. Sledgehammer
12. Come Talk To Me
13. Biko

Or, will it be #2?:
1. The Feeling Begins
2. Red Rain
3. Secret World
4. White Ashes
5. Burn You Up, Burn You Down
6. San Jacinto
7. Digging In The Dirt
8. Solsbury Hill
9. Sledgehammer
10. The Tower That Ate People
11. Come Talk To Me
12. Biko

More on this when I get it... Strange that an official site is posting speculative information!

August 30, 2005
Ray Wilson Updates Fans On New Stiltskin CD

According to Ray himself, he has spent the last six months recording the new Stiltskin CD, entitled Lemon Yellow Sun, which will be released in the spring next year. He is currently looking for licensing deals in different countries, so no distribution for the release is in place at this time. The line up for the new Stiltskin album, as revealed here first in my April 2005 interview is: Ray Wilson, Nir Z, Alvin Mills, Uwe Metzler, Irvin Duguid, and Scott Spence. Stay tuned for more information as I get it!

August 28, 2005
Peter Gabriel Talks About I/O and a Proposed Genesis Reunion In The August Issue of Mojo

In the August issue of the UK music magazine, Mojo (page 24), Peter Gabriel talks about progress on his next solo album, tentatively known as O/I. The article says that Gabriel recorded a few demo-type tracks in 2003 which have been provisionally remixed by Tchad Blake. Among the tracks allegedly included is a new version of the old b-side "Curtains." He is reported to be working on the album through the rest of the year, although Gabriel would not commit to a release date (no surprise there!). 

He also shares that he was offered a significant amount of money to do a Genesis reunion, but turned it down. Definitely worth picking up... even if it only spans one page! If you live in North America, imported copies are just hitting stores now.

August 28, 2005
New Carrack/Ace Compilation Released In Europe; U.S. Release In September!

On August 23rd, Lemon Records released a new compilation in the UK by Paul Carrack's old band, Ace, called Five A Side: The Best of Ace (catalog # Lemon-70). The compilation is scheduled for a U.S. release on September 13th and can be pre-ordered here.

Although I am sure it is not a coincidence, September 13th happens to be the very same day that Rhino Records is set to release Carrack's latest band, Mike & The Mechanics', Rewired and Hits albums on compact disc in North America. Carrack fans, get ready to break out your credit cards! 

Track Listing for Five A Side: The Very Best of Ace

1. How Long
2. I'm A Man
3. Ain't Gonna Stand For This No More
4. Rock N Roll Runaway
5. Real Feeling
6. Rock N Roll Singer
7. You're All That I Need
8. 24 Hours
9. Crazy World
10. No Future In Your Eyes
11. Tongue Tied
12. Time Ain't Long
13. Sail On My Brother
14. I Think Its Gonna Last

August 28, 2005
More Information Released On Gabriel's Two Forthcoming DVDs

Courtesy of Amazon in the UK, We now know that the British (PAL/Region 2) release date of the Peter Gabriel DVD Still Growing Up, Live and Unwrapped is October 31st. Still no word on the U.S. release date, but I am sure that one will follow shortly. A picture has been added to the original post below to show the cover of the DVD. We can now also report the that other Peter Gabriel endorsed DVD, Africa Calling - Live 8 at Eden(PAL/Region 2), is due on October 3rd in the UK. Again, no North American date just yet. 

August 25, 2005
Error On Official Chester Thompson Site Leaves Fans Seeing Purple

On the official Chester Thompson site, fans will notice that the website that comes up is actually the official site for the band Deep Purple. The web designer/hosting company, Rockit Factory also maintains the official site for Deep Purple, and this is obviously a temporary error. I have notified the company so that the actual Chester Thompson site will be restored to it's proper place. 

August 21, 2005
Peter Gabriel To Release Two New DVDs; Offers Free Download of "Darkness" (Demo)

According to the official Peter Gabriel site, there are two new double DVDs in the works: Africa Calling - Live 8 at Eden and Peter Gabriel - Still Growing Up, Live and Unwrapped. More details on these forthcoming releases should be announced soon.

In other Gabriel news, the official site has offered a free download of the 1996 demo for "Darkness" which eventually surfaced on Peter Gabriel's Up album years later. This early version of the song sounds quite different from the final version. Check it out!


August 21, 2005
Dusk fanzine presses 50th Issue

Mario Giammetti and his colleagues with the Italian Genesis fanzine, Dusk, have just published their 50th issue! The magazine has been going since 1991 without fail... Congratulations to Mario on this amazing achievement! For more information on how to pick up a copy of this historic issue, which also includes congratulatory notes from Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford, Steve Hackett, Tony Banks, Ant Phillips and Daryl Stuermer, click here.

August 21, 2005
Phil Collins Face Value DVD To Be Reissued In Japan

On September 2, 2005, Columbia Music Entertainment will reissue Phil Collins' Face Value (a.k.a. Classic Albums: Face Value) DVD (catalog #COBY-91114) in Japan. This reissue is identical to the original release which has been out of print a few years in Japan.

August 4, 2005
Mike & The Mechanics Hits and Rewired To Be Released In the U.S. For The First Time!

Rhino Records will release the first Mike & The Mechanics albums in the U.S. in more than a decade on September 13, 2005. Both the band's latest album, Rewired, and their "best of" compilation, Hits (which is digitally remastered for the first time), will be released on the same scheduled release date as Genesis' Platinum Collection 3-CD anthology and Video Show DVD, which is also on the Rhino label. 

Click Here To Return To The Interview Index.


World of is a fan site and has no affiliations with Genesis or any artist associated with the band. Website design, content and pictures copyright 2000-2014 David Negrin. All Rights Reserved. All content on this website is either the property of David Negrin, or the original owners, and may not be duplicated, copied, transmitted, or altered without permission. This site is best viewed in 1280x768
(widescreen), using IE 10.0 or better. Genesis band shot used in "Reviews" icon used by permission from P. Kamin.